Random assortment of rainy day musings

Leave a comment

October 13, 2013 by E.

Here in DC, it’s been raining non-stop since Thursday.  Usually, I get pretty moody when I don’t see the sun, but the dreary weather outside has been a great excuse for me to stay inside and be a lazy bum.

A. is out in Vegas for his bachelor weekend.  I’ve gotten a few “honey, I can’t drink like I used to” texts, so I know he’s still alive and hasn’t been thrown into jail.   I also received “thse strippers are gross you are hotttt” as a text, which made me smile and let me know that A. is indeed enjoying a proper Vegas bachelor weekend and maybe forgot his earlier text about no longer having the alcohol tolerance he used to.

Yesterday, I did four loads of laundry, drank a lot of pumpkin spice coffee, and watched an inordinate amount of cooking and travel shows that A. hates to watch with me.  One of the shows was the Rick Steves Best of Slovenia, which opened my eyes to the incredible travel destinations outside of the traditional England-France-Spain-Italy cities.  The episode featured  beautiful lakes, charming cafes, beautiful river walks, Venetian inspired buildings, World War II memorials, gorgeous churches, underground caves, and scenic castles, all within a few hours of each other.  I’ve heard so many great things about Prague and Budapest, but have never visited Eastern Europe.   Well, tiny Slovenia is now at the top of my travel wish-list.

I have no idea how productive I’ll be today.  I’ve been up for two hours and so far all I’ve accomplished is eating breakfast, drinking coffee, and coaxing my water-averse dog (who is part lab, by the way – with a waterproof coat and webbed feet) to step outside long enough to pee in the bushes.  At some point, I’ll venture to the store and perhaps cook something (I’ve been ogling this falafel recipe from the Minimalist Baker), maybe sweep the floors, possibly go to the gym.  But for now, I’m going to curl up on the couch with my coffee, watch the rain out my window, and dive into a good book.

Tell me about it!

