Why I still love DC

1

May 12, 2013 by E.

It’s days like today that restore my faith in the world.  That sounds a little dramatic, because let’s face it, my life is, all-in-all, pretty great.  I have the love of my friends, family, and soulmate.  I’m somewhat happily employed.  My health is good.   I recently discovered that Iron Chef America seasons 1 – 9 are available to me via Amazon Prime’s Instant Video.

Ohmygosh this man.  If only he cooked on TV without a shirt.  Michael Symon is 75% of the reason why I love Iron Chef.  (Sorry, honey.  All this time, you thought I watched it for the food.  Hah!)

Ohmygosh this man. If only he cooked on TV without a shirt. Michael Symon is 75% of the reason why I love Iron Chef. (Sorry, honey. All this time, you thought I watched it for the food. Hah!)

But despite all this, I’ve been struggling to keep things in perspective.  With all the terrible things going on in the world, in addition to the awful weather we’ve been having recently (hot and muggy one minute, freezing and windy the next, hardly any sunshine), I’ve been in kind of a funk.  I’ve been feeling more tired than usual, and haven’t been putting much effort into my kitchen endeavors (despite having this Mike Symon picture as my motivation).

And then things like today happen.  Full-on sunshine, all day.  Temperatures in the 60s.  Spending time with one of my best friends in the whole-wide world.  Getting mani-pedis with complementary glasses of champagne.   A 6 mile run around DC.  Making homemade pizza dough.  Getting laundry done and having that amazing “clean” smell take over your apartment.  Turning the AC off and throwing open the windows to let in fresh air.  Seeing families picnic on the National Mall.  Watching a corgi struggle to pick up a tennis ball, but being so proud of himself when he finally carried it all the way back to his owner.   Running past famous buildings and allowing myself to ponder about all the history that has occurred within those walls.

The United States Capitol

Discovering new and unexpected things.  I’ve been living in DC for almost 2 years now, and had visited with family and school trips several times before that.  Every time I think, I’ve done it all now, seen everything the city has to offer, the only things left to discover are new restaurants that pop up, the city surprises me yet again.  This red brick structure is on the path as I leave the Capitol “courtyard” and head north to go home.

Unimpressive-looking brick structure just north of the Capitol

Unimpressive-looking brick structure just north of the Capitol

I’m not sure what its purpose is; there wasn’t a plaque of any sort that I could see.  But inside the structure is a mini-oasis.  I’m not sure what it is about this place that has me so enchanted; maybe it reminds me just enough of the grotto at the Boboli garden in Florence, that it transports me, briefly, back to my favorite city.

DC's grotto

Whatever its purpose, this makes my heart happy.

I also had a good giggle at the metal condom that is now surrounding my city’s phalanx-shaped monument.

(Apologies for the poor picture quality.  The iPhone doesn’t do so well in wind-gusts.)

Apparently, damage from the 2011 earthquake was more serious than I realized, so poor George’s monument is going to be under wraps for the next several months.  Better safe than sorry, old boy!  The myth that Washington had an STD has been debunked several times by reputable historians, but the immature high-schooler in me still appreciates the protection around the phalanx analogy.

I hope everyone had a great weekend!  I’m taking it easy tonight and eating popcorn for dinner.  Since A. is gone for the week on business, I’m turning to one of my most fundamental comfort meals.  Not incredibly healthy, I know.  But tomorrow I’m planning on making a white pizza with garlicky greens and homemade ricotta, so stay tuned for that recipe!  Also, I’ll fill you in on the CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) that A. and I have joined.   It’s pretty awesome.  Monday doesn’t seem so bad when there’s going to be good food involved.

One thought on “Why I still love DC

  1. cookingwithsapana says:

    Hey ! Where are you ?
    Hello , I have nominated you with Shine On Award. Collect it from here
    http://cookingwithsapana.wordpress.com/737-2/
    Congrats !!

Tell me about it!

