Homemade Pizza – Smitten Kitchen style

1

April 18, 2013 by E.

I absolutely adore homemade pizza.  It’s one of those comfort foods that I find myself craving on a Friday night after a long week of work, but that I refuse to order over the phone.  To me, the pizza that is found at so many chains, or even at local places that claim it as their specialty, isn’t worth the calories.  The dough is too thick, too greasy, to flavorless.  The marinara sauce tastes more like sugar and salt than of real tomatoes.  And then the toppings?  Lackluster at best, and decidedly too few veggie options.

So while A., who is all about convenience, has no regard for his personal daily caloric consumption (in his mind, the more calories the better, because unlike moi, any time that boy puts on weight, it turns straight to muscle it’s completely unfair and I hate him), and likes his pizza dripping with pepperoni, sausage, ham, and any other animal product you could possibly throw on a pizza, wouldn’t mind dialing up the nearest pizza place and ordering two large meat-lovers pizzas with a side of cinnamon stick things, I refuse.  (Sorry for that incredibly long, run-on sentence.)  And since I’m the one doing the cooking, and pizza uses far fewer dishes than my normal dinners, he’s happy to eat homemade pizza and have minimal dishes to do afterward.

After reading and making several different pizza dough recipes over the years, I think I’ve found my favorite.  Easy, low-maintenance, simple, and relatively quick (in the grand scheme of pizza doughs – about 2 hours total).  Thin and tasty.  It’s hard to pull off for a weeknight meal, but perfect for those Friday summer nights when the sun doesn’t set until well after 8 and you’re okay with eating dinner at 10pm.

I give you: Really Simple Homemade Pizza from Smitten Kitchen.

She has beautiful pictures and perfectly written instructions, so there’s really nothing else I can say, except – go make this pizza dough!  We made it last Friday, topped it with homemade marinara sauce, mozzarella cheese, spinach, and fresh basil, plus prosciutto (his half) and roasted eggplant (her half).

Perfect Friday night indulgence

Perfect Friday night indulgence

 

Happy (almost) Friday everyone!  A. and I are off to Charleston for a long weekend; be prepared for lots of posts about vacation sex our culinary adventures when we return.

One thought on “Homemade Pizza – Smitten Kitchen style

  1. susielindau says:

    Yum! I might make this tonight!

Tell me about it!

