Inadvertent L Word

Leave a comment

February 12, 2013 by E.

With this story, I’m going to continue to jump around the timeline on you.  It’s now mid-April of 2011.  That’s almost two months since we embarked on our spring break cruise, and just over a month since I cooked A. homemade ravioli.  It’s also a month and three days after our First Official Date.

That’s right, Susie Homewrecker right here.  I’m not going to apologize, because frankly, I don’t have the time and I don’t feel the need.  I’m also not going to make excuses, but I will say that their split was as amicable as possible, and while she and I certainly have no love lost between us, we also refrained from engaging in catfights of any sort.  Not to mention, A. is clearly the love of my life, and I believe everything works out for a reason.

So, there’s that out of the way.  On to the story, shall we?

Anyway, as mentioned above, this story takes place in mid-April.  Specifically, April 19.  It was a Thursday.  The day of the Jimmy Buffett concert in Raleigh.  A. had arranged for a group of our friends to go to the concert, and had bought my ticket as a surprise (which he blew 3 weeks early because the boy just cannot keep secrets for anything).  One of my best friends, Ash, was coming along, and she and I had done extensive planning.  Logistics, supplies (beer and snacks), and of course, tropical attire.  Our group arrived to the concert venue 3 hours early, ready to party.

About 2 hours and 4 beers into our pre-concert party, A. and I were standing off to the side of the group, talking and canoodling, when all of a sudden, he slipped out the L word.

Let me remind you of the timeline.  One month and three days since our First Official Date.  We’d only known each other since September.  We’d only been sleeping together for 2 1/2 months.  We hadn’t even had slow sex yet. I had never, ever been in love with anyone before.

But I’ll back up and give you the full story.  Because to his credit, he just didn’t blurt out those three little words.  The L Word was simply woven into the conversation, by accident, exactly as the title suggests.

We were talking about something completely innocuous, I wish I could remember exactly what.  I believe it was something to do with a midterm exam we’d taken a week ago.

“…Of course I would’ve.  When I fell in love with you -”   (my eyes must have been the size of saucers at this point)   “Oh…shit…”

“You’re in love with me?!”

I might have squeaked out my question.  I can’t be sure.  I know I stammered a bit.  It was such a complete shock.  I was pleased, thrilled, obviously.  But aren’t declarations like that supposed to come over a candlelit dinner and a bouquet of flowers?  Or at least a box of chocolates?

Instead, we were both holding coozies of beer.  He was wearing a grass skirt (over his shorts) and a coconut printed shirt.  I was wearing a bathing suit and a lei.  We were in a gravel parking lot.  Not exactly Romance material.

Well, nothing about our relationship had been conventional, so why start now?

I was so giddy that I sang and danced my heart out during the concert.  A., on the other hand, was so upset he’d ruined a Big Romantic Moment that he started drinking vodka from a water bottle and doesn’t remember any of the concert.  Ah well.  At least one of us has memories from that night, and regardless, Jimmy is now an integral part of our combined history.

But there’s this one particular harbor
So far but yet so near
Where I see the days as they fade away
Finally disappear

But now I think about the good times
Down in the Caribbean sunshine
In my younger days I was so bad
Laughin’ about all the fun we’ve had

Tell me about it!

