2012, Live it and Love it.

Leave a comment

January 4, 2012 by E.

This blog is part of my New Year’s Resolution: Find something you love, and do it.

I’ve always loved writing, and ever since I spent six months in Italy, food and wine have been a part of my life, so much so, that now those two things define me more than almost anything else.  Unfortunately, this blog is not my career, not even remotely related to what I do every day from 9 – 5 (or 8 – 7 most days, if we’re being accurate) to sustain myself.  Like most people, I suspect, I do not wake up every morning thrilled at the prospect of going to work.  Most people, I would have to guess, are not devoted to acts they perform in order to receive a paycheck.  If you are one of those people who go to your job every day and absolutely love what you do, and would not consider for a second doing anything else with your life, then cherish it.  Hold on to it, and never forget how lucky you are.

I don’t hate my job, of course, but given the opportunity, I would much prefer to be home all day cooking, or out eating exotic foods and drinking intoxicating wines, than what I actually do all day, Monday through Friday.

And so here I am.  A career-woman by day, first-time blogger by early morning, late night, and/or weekends, as my work schedule permits.

This blog is a personal journey for me, to keep myself on a path of sanity and happiness.  To remind myself that I should work to live, and not live to work.  To record experiences, moments, recipes, meals, wine, and adventures.  To share all the victories and challenges of being madly in love with food, wine, and my boyfriend.  Living and loving with all my senses.

 

But, I am nothing, if not a Type A Personality.  Therefore, to give this blog some structure, and to aid any potential readers in determining if I intend to type anything worth reading, I’ve summed up my “philosophies” if you will, on the three primary topics I’ll be discussing over the next year: Food, Wine, and Sex

Food.

Eating fresh doesn’t have to be expensive, cooking isn’t as hard as you think it is, and being healthy is more of a lifestyle than a chore.  I love to grocery shop, to visit local markets, to cook, and to eat good food.  Cooking isn’t an art, or a science, or anything scary.  It’s putting stuff in a pan and heating it up.  Americans have somehow become disenchanted with their food; barely anyone knows where it comes from anymore, and people have starting eating what is ‘convenient’.  I want to be different.  I want to enjoy my food for what it is, how it smells, how it tastes, how it makes me feel.  Let’s stop eating simply because our bodies tell us we’re hungry; let’s eat because we want an adventure.

 

Wine.

I drink a lot of it.  Red, white, rose.  Anything Italian and within my budget, which is currently pretty low.  I’ve never drank a bottle that retailed for over $25, and I don’t feel like I’ve missed out on anything tremendous.  Maybe I have.  Maybe one day I’ll break the bank on a fancy bottle of Barolo, aged for 50 years.  But I doubt it.  My favorite wine in Italy retailed for 1.95 Euros (about $3.50 back then), so I never feel the urge to spend outrageous sums of money on imported wine (which my boyfriend appreciates).

 

Sex.

I’m not, and never have been, a hopeless romantic.  Rose petals on the bed, champagne and strawberries, Barry Manilow, self-written love poems, none of those things really get my blood boiling.  All that aside, however, let me say this – my boyfriend and I are madly in love. He is the first man I’ve ever broken out the “L Word” with, and he’s the only man I’ve ever considered worthy of bringing home to meet my parents.  We have sex.  Lots of sex.  Rough sex, slow sex, gentle sex, and quickies.  We have sex in bathrooms, on the couch, under tables, on top of the washing machines.  We never take ourselves too seriously.  I believe sex in a relationship should be frequent and daring.

Tell me about it!

